The Electronic Music Awards completed its successful inaugural event last night at Willow Studios in the Arts District of Downtown LA. In keeping with the spirit of the scene, this wasn’t about the red carpets, long speeches, and black tie attire, it was a celebration of electronic music's history and inclusivity. 


The EM Awards took place over three stages, welcoming over 1800 attendees and creating a festival live inspired atmosphere, taking cues from Burning Man (Apocalyptic Junkyard Stage), engaging innovative technology (Electronic Future Tent), and Detroit's industrial past (Detroit Dock stage). The event featured performances from electronic music innovators through the ages and artists shaping the sounds of tomorrow, including Moby, Paul Oakenfold and Orbital who played their first US performance in five years, Illenium, Autograf, Goldfish, Kidnap Kid and Madeaux.


Detroit played a special role, with Juan Atkins, legendary member of the Belleville Three, hosting the Detroit Dock, and celebrating Motor City's creation of the techno genre, with an all Detroit, all night performance featuring Floorplan (Live), Delano Smith, The Saunderson Brothers and of course, Juan Atkins, himself.


Australian trio Rufus Du Sol took home the gold of the night, earning the title best live show of the year win. The Last Night on Earth label-head Sasha received the honor of Record of the Year for his remix of Rufus' Innerbloom. LA-based trendsetter Bonobo also struck gold on the evening, winning album of the year for his daring album on Ninjatune Migration. The global electronic music powerhouse Festival Electric Daisy Carnival won 'Best Festival of the Year', and EDM hotshot Diplo tied Pete Tong for 'Best Radio Show' of the year for Diplo and Friends and BBC Radio 1 respectively. Legendary Eric Prydz took home gold for Best DJ of the year, while the mysterious, buzzing Cashmere Cat won Producer of the Year. Alison Wonderland was appraised best new artist of the year, and EMA-performer Illenium netted the winner for the best remix of the year. Moby was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Juan Atkins was given the Innovation Award. 


Here is the complete list of all the winners from EMA

Bonobo (Album of Year)

Eric Prydz (DJ of the Year) 

Major Lazer + Bieber (Single of the Year)

Sasha (Record of the Year)

Rufus Du Sol (Live Show of the Year) 

Illenium (Remix of the Year)

Electric Daisy Carnival (Festival of the Year) 

Alison Wonderland (New Artist of the Year) 

Cashmere Cat (Producer of the Year)