It’s been 9 years since Anja Schneider released her last album, now she is making a comeback with her first album on new label Sous Music called 'SoMe'

The Berlin-based artist has never felt more out of her comfort zone or inspired. The new album 'SoMe', is a nine-track calling card that not only represents Schneider's own creativity and the freedom that accompanies it but the freewheeling nature of new imprint Sous on which it finds its home.

The project began in November 2016, in Anja's basement to be precise. Schneider's productions, this is a deeply personal work. Getting back to her music digging roots she worked away for long hours among the dusty boxes of her vinyl collection – re-mastering herself in old jungle and D&B records, classic house and the Berlin-bred techno of the '90s that she fell in love with when she first moved to the German capital in 1993. If she was to look forward to her new musical vision, it had to pay due respect to her past.

Anja Schneider.jpeg

"I wanted this track to turn out like a big electronic band with attitude – but I failed, Instead it's more Chicago and Detroit, but I love it anyway!". Other highlights include the catchy ragga tones of 'All I See', inspired by her trip to Cape Town for CTEMF in 2015 and exemplifies Schneider's knack for creating music that feels at once fresh yet familiar. "Overall I'm really interested in these ragga vibes coming into house and techno – I love how these kids are combining their roots with electronic music.”

An artist with tried and true roots in techno, 'SoMe' of course reflects an Anja Schneider DJ experience, with cuts such as 'Got Me With A Bang' and even 'Night Out', that mines the spirit of her own debut album 'Beyond The Valley': "I'm still getting requests for tracks from that album almost 10 years later, so wanted to put something on there that pays homage to this period as I still love this Berlin techno sound and I wanted something on the album that connects with it."  

Anja Schneider (Image credit - Patrice Brylla).jpeg

Rounding out the album on a particularly personal note comes 'Shadows', Schneider smiles as she speaks about it. "I originally wanted to do an ambient track and I wanted to sing on it, but thankfully I have the right people around me telling me that's not a good idea, she shares with a laugh. "In the end, it came out a lot more spacey and features the vocals of my boyfriend. I think he may have a new career ahead of him!” — Anja Schneider

Anja Schneider's 'SoMe' will be released in the fall of November 3rd on Sous Music. Anja will complete an album tour in key cities including Barcelona, Paris, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Detroit, Berlin, London, Zurich, and Munich over the coming months. Full details TBA.

Anja Schneider - 'SoMe'

Label: Sous Music

Distribution: !K7

Preview album track 'All I See'


1. The Sun

2. Secret Escapes

3. All I See

4. WMF

5. Sanctuary feat. Stereo MCs

6. Got Me With A Bang

7. Night Out

8. Look of Love 

9. Shadows

Follow Anja Schneider:  Facebook | SoundCloud | Website

Follow Sous Music: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud | Website | YouTube